Tom Heitmann

Assistant Research Professor


University of Wisconsin, Ph.D. (Physics) 2005

University of Wisconsin, M.A. (Physics) 2002

Valparaiso University, B.S. (Physics) 2000

Research Interests:

Neutron scattering, magnetism, superconductivity, ionic transport, low temperature physics

Select Publications:

  • “Topological magnon bands in a room temperature kagome magnet”, H. Zhang, X. Feng, T. Heitmann, A.I. Kolesnikov, M.B. Stone, Y.M. Lu, and X. Ke, Physical Review B 101, 100405 (2020).
  • “Magnetic anisotropy in single-crystal high entropy perovskite oxide La(Cr2Mn0.2Fe0.2Co0.2Ni0.2)O3 films” Yogesh Sharma, Qiang Zheng, Alessandro Mazza, Elizabeth Skoropata, Thomas Heitmann, Zheng Gai, Brianna Musico, Verla Keppens, Paul F. Miceli, Matthew Brahlek, Bian C. Sales, and Thomas Z. Ward, Physical Review Materials 4, 014404 (2020).
  • “Carbon Vacancy Ordering in Zirconium Carbide Powder”, Yue Zhou, Thomas W. Heitmann, Eric Bohannan, Joseph C. Schaeperkoetter, William G. Fahrenholtz, and Gregory E. Hilmas, Journal of the American Ceramics Society 103 2891 (2020).
  • “Perovskite magnet with quantum mechanical glassiness”, Chen, A. Dahal, J. Rodriguez, G. Xu, T. Heitmann, A. Ernst, D.J. Singh, and D.K. Singh, Materials Today Physics 12, 100163
  • “Crystal growth and magnetic structure of MnBi2Te4”, -Q. Yan, Q. Zhang, T. Heitmann, Z.L. Huang, W.D. Wu, D. Vaknin, B.C. Sales, and R.J. McQueeney, Physical Review Materials 3, 064202 (2019).
  • “Crystal growth, microstructure and physical properties of SrMnSb2, Yong Liu, Tao Ma, Lin Zhou, Warren E. Straszheim, Farhan Islam, Wei Tian, Thomas Heitmann, R.A. Rosenberg, J.M. Wilde, Bing Li, Andreas Kreyssig, Alan I. Goldman, B.G. Ueland, Robert J. McQueeney, and David Vaknin, Physical Review B 99, 054435 (2019).
  • “Quantum critical behavior in Ce(Fe76Ru0.24)2Ge2”, Wouter Montfrooij, Tom Heitmann, Yiming Qiu, Shannon Watson, Ross Erwin, Wangchun Chen, Yang Zhao, Meigan Aronson, Yingkai Huang, and Anne de Visser, Physical Review B 99, 195113 (2019).
  • “Probing Li Ion Dynamics in Amorphous xLi2SO4(1-x)LiPO3 by Quasielastic Neutron Scattering”, Tom Heitmann, Gavin Hester, Saibal Mitra, Thomas Calloway, Madhu Tyagi, Andrew Miskowiec, Souleymane Diallo, Naresh Osti, and Eugene Mamontov, Solid State Ionics 334, 95 (2019).
  • “Evolution of Boson peak with Li-salt concentration in superionic xLi2SO4(1-x)LiPO3 glasses”, Tom Heitmann, Gavin Hester, and Saibal Mitra, Physica B: Physics of Condensed Matter 551C, 315 (2018).
  • “Persistence of local-moment antiferromagnetic order in Ba1-xKxMn2As2, J. Lamsal, G.S. Tucker, W. Heitmann, A. Kreyssig, A. Jeche, Abhishek Pandey, Wei Tian, R.J. McQueeney, D.C. Johnston, and A.I. Goldman, Physical Review B 87, 144418 (2013).
  • “Effects of Transition Metal Substitutions on the Incommensurability and Spin Fluctuations in BaFe2As2 by Elastic and Inelastic Neutron Scattering”, M.G. Kim, J. Lamsal, T.W. Heitmann, G.S. Tucker, D.K. Pratt, S.N. Khan, Y.B. Lee, A. Alam, A. Thaler, N. Ni, S.L. Bud’ko, K.J. Marty, M.D. Lumsden, P.C. Canfield, B.N. Harmon, D.D. Johnson, A. Kreyssig, R.J. McWQueeney, and A.I. Goldman, Physical Review Letters 109, 167003 (2012).
  • “Magnetic excitations in the spinel compound Lix[Mn96Li0.04]O4 (x= 0.2,0.6,0.8,1.0): how a classical system can mimic quantum critical scaling”, Thomas Heitmann, Alexander Schmets, John Gaddy, Jagat Lamsal, Marcus Petrovic, Thomas Vojta, and Wouter Montfrooij, Physical Review B 81, 014411 (2010).
  • “Picovoltmeter for probing vortex dynamics in a single weak-pinning Corbino channel”, W. Heitmann, K. Yu, C. Song, M.P. DeFeo, B.L.T. Plourde, M.B.S. Hesselberth, and P.H. Kes, Review of Scientific Instruments 79, 103906 (2008).
  • MgB2 Energy Gap Determination by Scanning Tunneling Spectroscopy”, T.W. Heitmann, S.D. Bu, D.M. Kim, J.H. Choi, J. Giencke, C.B. Eom, K.A. Regan, N. Rogado, M.A. Hayward, T. He, J.S. Slusky, P. Khalifah, M. Haas, R.J. Cava, D.C. Larbalestier, and M.S. Rzchowski, Superconductor Science and Technology 17, 237 (2004).


“Practical Neutron Scattering at a Steady State Neutron Source”, Tom Heitmann and Wouter Montfrooij  (open source graduate level instructional book developed in conjunction with the Spring 2012 laboratory course at MU as part of the NSF IGERT program) ; Mizzou Media, September 2012, IBSN: 978-1-616-00435-4, 330 pages NScourse_textbook.pdf